Lord Mayor Selection Committee

Friday 16 February 2018

PRESENT:

Councillor Nicholson, in the Chair. Councillors Mrs Aspinall, Cook, Evans, Dr Mahony and Murphy.

Also in attendance: Sarah Moore (Professional Assistant), Elizabeth Olver (Civic Support Co-ordinator) and Helen Prendergast (Democratic Adviser).

The meeting started at 10am and finished at 10.15 am.

Note: At a future meeting, the committee will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

1. Appointment of Chair

Having been proposed by Councillor Cook and seconded by Councillor Dr Mahony, it is <u>agreed</u> that Councillor Nicholson is appointed Chair of the Lord Mayor Selection Committee for the municipal year.

2. **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest made by Councillors in accordance with the code of conduct.

3. Minutes

The Committee <u>agreed</u> the minutes of the meeting held on 17 February 2017.

4. Lord Mayoralty 2018/19

The Committee sought nominations for the Lord Mayoralty 2018/19. Having been nominated by Councillor Evans OBE and seconded by Councillor Nicholson, it was <u>agreed</u> unanimously to extend a cordial invitation to Councillor Sam Davey to accept the office of Lord Mayor for the following municipal year.

Members reflected on the historic Lord Mayor Selection Committee's minute book dating back to 1944 and the activities of past Lord Mayors.

Councillors waited upon Councillor Sam Davey who, on arrival, expressed his appreciation at the nomination which he was delighted to accept.

<u>Agreed</u> that it is unanimously recommended to City Council that it approves the appointment of Councillor Sam Davey as Lord Mayor for the 2018/19 municipal year.